2023 ONC Elections

The Orutsararmiut Native Council advertised the opportunity to run for Council through Facebook,  website, talk line, and the Delta Discovery starting March 2, 2023. Throughout the solicitation period, a total of nine Tribal members submitted their Declaration of Candidacy. 

On March 28, 2023, the election committee was sworn in and met for the first time to review the eligibility of all the candidates running for Council.  On April 5, 2023, the election committee met again to finalize the eligibility review of Council candidates. The election committee drafted their recommendations regarding candidates to present to Council in an upcoming meeting. 

On April  11, 2023, Council convened through a special council meeting to hear the recommendations of the election committee. At that time, all candidates were unanimously approved through a motion.

The election committee has oversight of the election process to ensure the process follows the Tribes’ Constitution, bylaws and ordinances. The election committee is also responsible for counting votes and delivering the result of the election to Council. It also bears the additional responsibilities of establishing quorum during the annual meeting.

The election committee is currently composed of:

  • Ray Watson, Committee Chair
  • Daisy May Barrera
  • Mary Noes

Comments are closed.